A Short List of Bucket-List Books:

Charles Darwin: On the Origin of Species

Victor Frankl: Man’s Search for Meaning

Norman Doidge, M.D.: The Brain That Changes Itself

Friedrich Nietzsche: Beyond Good and Evil; Thus spake Zarathustra; Will to Power

James Joyce: Ulysses; Dubliners.

Anthony Burgess: A Clockwork Orange

Bertrand Russel: Why I Am Not a Christian

Richard Dawkins: The Blind Watchmaker

Stephen Crane: The Red Badge of Courage

Hunter S. Thompson: Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas

Gunter Grass: The Tin Drum

C.S. Lewis: Anything, but of special interest are: Mere Christianity; The Cosmic Trilogy

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: Sherlock Homes (both volumes)

The Tibetan Book Of the Dead

Leo Tolstoy: War and Peace; Anna Karenina

Fyodor Dostoevsky: The Brothers Karamazov; Crime and Punishment

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe: Faust (Part 1 and 2)

Some of the items on this list are, much to my own chagrin, quite cliché; but cliche’s are cliche’s for a reason. The sine qua non of my taste is not the unknown  or unknowable – I try my best to not be a hipster (which may actually make me a hipster… paradox!). The Tin Drum is one of my favorite books of all time, second only to The Red Badge of Courage. I enjoy many more books, but if I had to choose a handful to bring if my house was burning down, these would certainly be the few I would choose – although half are conveniently located in my Kobo.

Leave a Reply

